Study Abroad in the Galápagos Islands, Ecuador

Get Started Today!


 

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

Program Dates - January Term 2023

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: January 2, 2023 to Quito | Inbound: January 15, 2023 from Quito

2-Week January Term Program

Monday, January 2

Optional flight from the U.S. to Quito.* Arrive in Quito and transfer to accommodation.* Students making their own travel arrangements should also arrive on this day

Tuesday, January 3

Orientation at USFQ Cumbayá Campus. Welcome lunch. Class begins

Wednesday, January 4

Travel to San Cristóbal Island, Galápagos. Orientation and welcome lunch at USFQ Extension Campus. Class on campus. Homestay family meet and pick-up

Thursday, January 5

Class on campus. Visit to Interpretation Center and Frigate Bird Hill. Snorkel excursion in Darwin Bay

Friday, January 6

Class on campus. Visit to La Galapaguera Tortoise Breeding Station and Puerto Chino beach

Saturday, January 7

Class on campus. Visit La Lobería Beach for snorkeling and walk to see tropical birds’ nests

Sunday, January 8

Class on campus. Snorkeling at Kicker Rock

Monday, January 9

Class on campus. Visit a local recycling plant and hike to El Junco crater lake

Tuesday, January 10

Class on campus. Visit Isla Lobos to see the bluefooted booby nests and snorkel from the shore

Wednesday, January 11

Final exam. Travel by speed boat to Puerta Ayora on Santa Cruz Island

Thursday, January 12

Visit Darwin Research Station and the Lava Java Organic Coffee Farm. Free afternoon to explore Puerta Ayora

Friday, January 13

Fly to Quito and overnight in hotel

Saturday, January 14

Guided tour of Quito historic center and Middle of the World Monument or guided visit to Otavalo Market

Sunday, January 15

Optional return flight from Quito to U.S.*

Dates and itineraries are tentative and subject to change.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.


Download Study Abroad Resources!

Download Study Abroad Resources!

Download Study Abroad Resources!