Study Abroad in the Galápagos Islands, Ecuador

Program Dates - January Term 2020

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: January 2 to Quito | Inbound: January 15 from Quito

2-Week January Term Program

Thursday, January 2

Optional flight from U.S. to Quito*. Arrive in Quito and transfer to accommodation*
Own travel students must also arrive on this date.

Friday, January 3

Orientation at USFQ Cumbayá Campus. Welcome lunch. Class begins

Saturday, January 4

Travel to San Cristóbal Island, Galápagos. Orientation and welcome lunch at USFQ Extension Campus. Class on campus. Homestay family meet and pick-up

Sunday, January 5

Class on campus. Visit to Interpretation Center and Frigate Bird Hill. Snorkel excursion in Darwin Bay

Monday, January 6

Class on campus. Visit to La Galapaguera Tortoise Breeding Station and Puerto Chino beach

Tuesday, January 7

Class on campus. Visit La Lobería Beach for snorkeling and walk to see tropical birds’ nests

Wednesday, January 8

Class on campus. Snorkeling at Kicker Rock

Thursday, January 9

Class on campus. Visit a local recycling plant and hike to El Junco crater lake

Friday, January 10

Class on campus. Visit Isla Lobos to see the blue-footed booby nests and snorkel from the shore

Saturday, January 11

Final exam. Travel by speed boat to Puerta Ayora on Santa Cruz Island

Sunday, January 12

Visit Darwin Research Station and the Lava Java Organic Coffee Farm. Free afternoon to explore Puerta Ayora

Monday, January 13

Fly to Quito and overnight in hotel

Tuesday, January 14

Guided tour of Quito historic center and Middle of the World Monument or guided visit to Otovalo Market

Wednesday, January 15

Optional return flight from Quito to U.S.*

Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change. Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.