Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

Storytelling in Australia: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: June 17 to Sydney | Inbound: July 14 from Perth

Storytelling in Australia with optional Sydney visit

Academic Program: June 23 - July 12

Monday, June 17

Optional flight from the U.S. to Sydney.*

Wednesday, June 19

Arrive Sydney and transfer to your accommodation.* Guided sightseeing tour.

Thursday, June 20

Blue Mountains day trip to include a visit to Featherdale Wildlife park where you can enjoy an encounter with a koala.

Friday, June 21

Free day to explore Sydney.

Saturday, June 22

Depart Sydney for Perth.* Arrive Perth and transfer to your accommodation.* Welcome dinner.

Sunday, June 23

Orientation meeting. Introductory sightseeing tour of Perth and Fremantle.

Monday, June 24 to Friday, June 28

Classes on campus.

Saturday, June 29

Today you will depart Perth, traveling north along the Indian Ocean Drive and passing through wheat and sheep farming areas to the fishing town of Dongara and the port city of Geraldton, en-route to Northampton.

Sunday, June 30

Morning class after which you will head towards Kalbarri and explore the Murchison River Gorge and Kalbarri National Park. After lunch travel north to the Shark Bay World Heritage area.

Monday, July 1

Travel to Monkey Mia and visit the dolphins. The afternoon is spent visiting the fishing town of Denham, Eagle Bluff and Shell Beach before heading back to Nanga Bay.

Tuesday, July 2

Visit the Hamelin Pool stromatolites, before leaving the World Heritage area for the tropical fruit growing area of Carnarvon. You will then move up to Coral Bay and the start of the Ningaloo Reef.

Wednesday, July 3

Free day in Coral Bay where you can swim, snorkel or explore the white coral sands of the Ningaloo Reef. An optional dive is a must for all scuba divers or enjoy an optional glass bottom boat cruise or Manta Ray cruise.

Thursday, July 4

Head from Coral Bay inland to the West Australian Outback and the Hamersley Range which at over 3 billion years old is one of the world’s oldest mountain ranges.

Friday, July 5

Early departure to enjoy the amazing scenery of the Karijini National Park. Explore the highlights such as Weano and Hancock gorges, Handrail Pool, Fortescue Falls and on to Dales Gorge (subject to weather and road conditions), before a spectacular evening under the stars.

Saturday, July 6

After a morning swim at Fortescue Falls, pack up camp and head down the inland highway to Wonmunna, an Aboriginal rock carving site, then through the mining town of Newman to Kumarina for the night.

Sunday, July 7

Visit the mining town of Meekatharra, and Cue to visit “Walganna” or Walga Rock and view the large gallery of Aboriginal rock paintings. Then pass through sheep and cattle stations on the way to Wogarno Station.

Monday, July 8

Travel to Perth.

Tuesday, July 9

Class on campus.

Wednesday, July 10 and Thursday, July 11

Presentations.

Friday, July 12

Last day and graduation.

Sunday, July 14

Program Ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

AIFS and Murdoch University reserve the right to modify the itinerary. Dates are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.