Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

Tropical Marine Biology in Australia: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: June 18 to Sydney | Inbound: July 17 from Perth

Tropical Marine Biology in Australia with optional Sydney visit

Academic Program: June 24 - July 17

Monday, June 18

Optional flight from the U.S. to Sydney.*

Wednesday, June 20

Arrive Sydney and transfer to your accommodation.* Introductory walking tour followed by a ferry trip to Manly with dinner.

Thursday, June 21

Blue Mountains day trip to include a visit to Featherdale Wildlife park where you can enjoy an encounter with a koala bear.

Friday, June 22

Free day to explore Sydney.

Saturday, June 23

Depart Sydney for Perth.* Arrive Perth and transfer to your accommodation.* Welcome dinner.

Sunday, June 24

Orientation meeting. Introductory sightseeing tour of Perth and Fremantle.

Monday, June 25 to Friday, June 29

Lectures, laboratory sessions and tutorials on campus.

Friday, June 29

Depart Perth for Coral Bay, Ningaloo Reef Marine Park (overnight transfer).

Saturday, June 30

Arrive Coral Bay and settle into your accommodation. Orientation and coral-viewing tour. Afternoon labs, group assignments and planning.

Sunday, July 1 to Tuesday, July 3

Group projects.

Wednesday, July 4 to Thursday, July 5

Wildlife interactions and snorkeling tour. Free time to explore.

Friday, July 6 to Sunday, July 8

Group projects.

Monday, July 9

Free day. Evening departure for Perth (overnight travel).

Tuesday, July 10

Arrive in Perth. Balance of day free.

Wednesday, July 11 to Sunday, July 15

Report writing.

Monday, July 16

Group presentations.

Tuesday, July 17

Program Ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

AIFS and Murdoch University reserve the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.