Study Abroad in The Holocaust, Study & Travel Program

Get Started Today!


 

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

The Holocaust: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: Saturday, May 7 | Inbound: Tuesday, May 31

The Holocaust

Academic Program: May 8 - May 30

Saturday, May 7

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Sunday, May 8

Arrive in London. Transfer to London residence.* Orientation meeting with AIFS staff including preparation for course content and discussion on trauma.

Monday, May 9

Morning class followed by guided sightseeing tour of London.

Tuesday, May 10

Morning class followed by a workshop on modern genocide with a guest speaker from a human rights organization.

Wednesday, May 11

Morning class followed by a visit to the Holocaust Exhibition at the Imperial War Museum.

Thursday, May 12

Visit to the Weiner Library for the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide for a talk and a visit to the exhibition on the International Tracing Service. Afternoon class.

Friday, May 13

Study day.

Saturday, May 14

Transfer from London residence to the airport for flight to Berlin. Sightseeing tour followed by a group dinner.

Sunday, May 15

Morning class.

Monday, May 16

Morning class followed by a walking tour of the Jewish sector to include the site of the Old Synagogue; Womens’ Protest Memorial; Hackesche Höfe; Otto Weidt courtyard; Old Cemetery site (Moses Mendelssohn’s burial place); Jewish Boys’ School; New Synagogue and Bebelplatz (site of the Nazi book burning).

Tuesday, May 17

Morning guided visit to Sachsenhausen Memorial by public transportation.Afternoon self-guided visit to the Topography of Terror exhibit.

Wednesday, May 18

Morning class followed by a guided tour of the House of the Wannsee Conference.

Thursday, May 19

Seminar at the German Resistance Memorial Center. Free afternoon.

Friday, May 20

Transfer from Berlin to Prague with a visit to Terezin Concentration Camp and tour of the ghetto en route including a packed lunch. Check into accommodation in Prague.

Saturday, May 21

Morning class followed by a guided walking tour of Prague Old Town, including the famed Charles Bridge. Entrance to the Jewish Museum including a guided walking tour of the Jewish quarter.

Sunday, May 22

Morning class followed by a tour of a local brewery including a group lunch.

Monday, May 23

Transfer from Prague to Kraków through the beautiful Moravia wine region with a group lunch en route. Check into accommodation in Kraków.

Tuesday, May 24

Guided tour of Kazimierz where more than 70,000 Jews lived before World War II, including visits to the Old Synagogue Museum and the ‘Schindler’s Factory’ museum. Dinner at a traditional Polish restaurant.

Wednesday, May 25

Morning class followed by free time to explore Kraków.

Thursday, May 26

Transfer from Kraków to Warsaw with a guided tour of Auschwitz and Birkenau en route. Check into accommodation in Warsaw.

Friday, May 27

Tour of the Warsaw Ghetto including entrance to the Jewish Cemetery and visit to the POLIN Museum of the History of the Polish Jews.

Saturday, May 28

Full-day excursion from Warsaw to Treblinka Extermination Camp including a group lunch.

Sunday, May 29

Morning class followed by an afternoon visit to Lazienki Palace and Botanic Gardens.

Monday, May 30

Morning final review session followed by a free afternoon. Farewell group dinner.

Tuesday, May 31

Optional return flight from Warsaw to the U.S.*

Dates and itinerary are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.


Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs! Offerings!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program, The Holocaust programs!