Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

Centuries of Genocide: A History: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: Saturday, May 12 | Inbound: Wednesday, June 6

A History of Genocide

Academic Program: May 14 - June 5

Saturday, May 12

Optional overnight flight from us U.S. to London.*

Sunday, May 13

Arrive London. Transfer to London residence.* Orientation meeting with AIFS staff.

Monday, May 14

Morning class followed by a guided sightseeing tour of London.

Tuesday, May 15

Morning class followed by a workshop on modern genocide with a guest speaker from a human rights organization.

Wednesday, May 16

Morning class followed by a visit to the Holocaust exhibition at the Imperial War Museum.

Thursday, May 17

Morning class followed by a visit to the Weiner Library of the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide.

Friday, May 18

Morning class followed by a visit to the Museum of London Docklands with a focus on imperialism and the slave trade.

Saturday, May 19

Free day.

Sunday, May 20

Transfer from London residence to airport. Flight from London to Berlin. Transfer from airport to Berlin hotel. Guided sightseeing followed by a welcome dinner.

Monday, May 21

Morning class followed by a walking tour of the Jewish sector.

Tuesday, May 22

Full day excursion to the memorial at Ravensbrück, the largest German concentration camp for women.

Wednesday, May 23

Morning class followed by a guided tour of the House of the Wannsee Conference.

Thursday, May 24

Seminar at the German Resistance Memorial Center. Afternoon class.

Friday, May 25

Transfer from Berlin to Prague with a visit to Terezin Concentration Camp and tour of the ghetto en route. Check into accommodation in Prague.

Saturday, May 26

Morning class followed by a guided walking tour of Prague Old Town, and a tour of a local brewery including a tasting and group dinner.

Sunday, May 27

Morning class followed by a guided walking tour of the Jewish Quarter and Jewish museum.

Monday, May 28

Transfer from Prague to Kraków through the beautiful Moravia wine region with a group lunch en route. Check into accommodation in Kraków.

Tuesday, May 29

Guided tour of Kazimierz where more than 70,000 Jews lived before World War II, and the Old Synagogue Museum. Afternoon trip to Auschwitz and Birkenau.

Wednesday, May 30

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the 700 year old salt mine at Wieliczka, UNESCO World Heritage site, with its labyrinth of 300km of tunnels revealing chapels and underground lakes and a visitor museum. Dinner at a traditional Polish restaurant with entertainment.

Thursday, May 31

Morning class followed by free time to explore Kraków.

Friday, June 1

Transfer from Kraków to Warsaw. Check into accommodation in Warsaw.

Saturday, June 2

Visit to the POLIN Museum of the History of the Polish Jews.

Sunday, June 3

Full-day excursion from Warsaw to Treblinka Extermination Camp including a group lunch. Visit to Lazienki Palace and Botanic Gardens.

Monday, June 4

Morning class followed by a tour of the Warsaw Ghetto including entrance to the Jewish Cemetery.

Tuesday, June 5

Morning final review session followed by a free afternoon. Farewell group dinner.

Wednesday, June 6

Program ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.