A History of Genocide, Travel

A History of Genocide: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: Sunday, May 14 | Inbound: Wednesday, June 7

A History of Genocide

Academic Program: May 16 - June 6

Sunday, May 14

Optional overnight flight from us U.S. to London.*

Monday, May 15

Arrive London. Transfer to London residence. *Balance of day free.

Tuesday, May 16

Morning class followed by a guided sightseeing tour of London.

Wednesday, May 17

Morning class. Workshop on genocide in modern Sudan.

Thursday, May 18

Morning class. Field trip to the Churchill War Rooms.

Friday, May 19

Morning class. Guest lecture on the Rohingya a people of Myanmar. Tour of the Weiner Library and a workshop focusing on the Holocaust Exhibition at the Imperial War Museum.

Saturday, May 20

Transer from London residence to airport. Flight from London to Berlin. Transfer from airport to Berlin hotel. Afternoon tour of Berlin by coach with a professional, English speaking guide. Welcome dinner cruise on the Spree River.

Sunday, May 21

Morning class. Visit to the Jewish Museum with audio guide. A walking tour of the Jewish sector to include: Site of the Old Synagogue; Womens Protest memorial; Hackesche Höfe; Otto Weidt courtyard; Old Cemetery site (Moses Mendelssohn’s burial place); Jewish Boys School; New Synagogue; Bebelplatz (site of the Nazi Book Burning).

Monday, May 22

Visit and seminar at the German Resistance Museum and visit the Topography of Terror Museum.

Tuesday, May 23

Morning class. Half-day excursion to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp.

Wednesday, May 24

Guided visit to the Reichstag and Dome. Free afternoon to explore Berlin.

Thursday, May 25

Transfer to Berlin to Prague with a visit to Terezin Concentration Camp en-route. Check into accommodation in Prauge.

Friday, May 26

Morning class. Guided walking tour of Prague Old Town, including Charles Bridge. Entrance to Prague Castle.

Saturday, May 27

Morning class. Guided walking tour of the Jewish Quarter including the Jewish Museum and Cemetery. Evening music performance.

Sunday, May 28

Full-day excursion to beautiful Kutna Hora, UNESCO World Heritage town, in the region of Bohemia. See the famous bone church, the silver mines and St. Barbaras Cathedral, a mighty Gothic church constructed in 1388.

Monday, May 29

Transfer from Prague to Krakow with a lunch stop in the beautiful Moravis wine region. Check into accommodation in Krakow.

Tuesday, May 30

Guided tour of Kazimierz where more than 70,000 Jews lived before World War II, including visits to the Old Synagogue Museum and the Schindlers Factory museum. Dinner at a traditional Polish restaurant with entertainment.

Wednesday, May 31

Morning class. Free afternoon to explore Krakow.

Thursday, June 1

Morning class. Half-day excursion to the 700 year old salt mine at Wieliczka, UNESCO World Heritage site, with its labyrinth of 300km of tunnels revealing chapels, underground lakes and a museum.

Friday, June 2

Transfer from Krakow to Warsaw with a stop at Auschwitz and Birkenau en-route. Check into accommodation in Warsaw.

Saturday, June 3

Walking tour of the Old Town and Warsaw Ghetto including entrance to the Jewish Cemetery and visits to the POLIN Musuem of the History of the Polish Jews and Pawick Prison Museum.

Sunday, June 4

Morning class. Half-day excursion to Treblinka Extermination Camp.

Monday, June 5

Visit to the Warsaw Uprising Museum, the Gestapo Headquarters and to Lazienki Palace and Botanic Gardens.

Tuesday, June 6

Morning final class. Free afternoon.

Wednesday, June 7

Program ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.