Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

British Fantasy Literature: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: Friday, June 28 to Edinburgh* | Inbound: Sunday, July 22 from London*

British Fantasy Literature

Academic Program: June 30 - July 17

Friday, June 28

Optional overnight flight from the U.S. to Edinburgh.*

Saturday, June 29

Arrive Edinburgh (Including Own Travel Students). Transfer to student residence at Edinburgh University.* Balance of day free to relax.

Sunday, June 30

Morning orientation with AIFS staff. Afternoon sightseeing tour of Edinburgh including Edinburgh Castle and Mary King’s Close. Afternoon class and group meal.

Monday, July 1

Overnight excursion to the Scottish highlands. One-way trip aboard the Jacobite Steam train. Overnight in Fort William.

Tuesday, July 2

Travel back to Edinburgh with stops in the highlands including Glenfinnan Viaduct to see the “Hogwarts Express”.

Wednesday, July 3

Morning class. Excursion to Alnwick Castle for broomstick flying lesson and guided film location tour.

Thursday, July 4

Transfer to London by train and check into your accommodation. Evening group meal.

Friday, July 5

Morning class. Afternoon sightseeing tour of London

Saturday, July 6

Full-day excursion to Stonehenge, Avebury and other prehistoric sites. These sites are linked to the legend of Wayland Smith and St. George in addition to being UNESCO World Heritage sites and impressive in their own right. Continue on to Taunton for overnight stay.

Sunday, July 7

Morning departure to Tintagel. Visit to Tintagel Castle, birthplace of King Arthur, Dozmary Pool, claimed to be home to the Lady of the Lake and exploration of the local countryside. Overnight in Taunton.

Monday, July 8

Morning departure to Glastonbury, said to be the site of King Arthur’s death. Hike up Glastonbury Tor. Group pub lunch at one of the most haunted buildings in England. Entrance to Glastonbury Abbey. Late afternoon transfer to London.

Tuesday, July 9

Morning class.

Wednesday, July 10

Full-day excursion to Oxford. Walking tour of Oxford with entrances to Christchurch College, Oxford the inspiration for the Great Hall in Harry Potter. Group pub lunch at The Eagle and Child. Discover the stomping grounds of the Inklings (Lewis & Tolkien), absorb the atmosphere and see how other writers such as Wilde, Pullman and Rowling were inspired by this town.

Thursday, July 11

Morning class. Afternoon class and visit to the British Library to see firsthand the Beowulf manuscript.

Friday, July 12

Morning class followed by a visit to Strawberry Hill gothic castle.

Saturday, July 13

Free day.

Sunday, July 14

Free day.

Monday, July 15

Morning class. Afternoon workshop at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre.

Tuesday, July 16

Morning class. Afternoon theater performance at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre.

Wednesday, July 17

Final class.

Thursday, July 18

Program ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

Dates are subject to change. AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only