Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

British Fantasy Literature: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: Friday, June 29 to Edinburgh* | Inbound: Sunday, July 22 from London*

British Fantasy Fiction

Academic Program: June 30 - July 21

Friday, June 29

Optional overnight flight from the U.S. to Edinburgh.*

Saturday, June 30

Arrive Edinburgh. Transfer to student residence at Edinburgh University.* Balance of day free to relax.

Sunday, July 1

Morning orientation with AIFS staff. Afternoon sightseeing tour of Edinburgh including Edinburgh Castle. Afternoon class and group meal.

Monday, July 2

Overnight excursion to the Scottish highlands. Lunch in Mallaig. One-way trip aboard the Jacobite Steam train. Overnight in Fort William.

Tuesday, July 3

Travel back to Edinburgh with stops in the highlands including Glenfinnan Viaduct to see the “Hogwarts Express”.

Wednesday, July 4

Morning class. Excursion to Alnwick Castle for broomstick flying lesson and guided film location tour.

Thursday, July 5

Morning class. Transfer to Bangor by train. Bangor is a small city situated between the mountains of Snowdonia National Park and the Welsh coast. The center of all things King Arthur, Neolithic and Roman ruins around every corner, sheep and ponies dot the hillsides and the Welsh language (said by some to be the inspiration for Elvish) is spoken by 90% of the population.

Friday, July 6

Morning class. Guest lecture on Arthurian Legends and influence on fantasy fiction. Walking tour of Bangor and visit to Bangor Cathedral, the location of the very first written mention of King Arthur.

Saturday, July 7

Morning class. Afternoon excursion to Snowdonia and Anglesey. The landscape that inspired Tolkien and Lewis plus legends and castles aplenty. Fish and chip supper at Beaumaris.

Sunday, July 8

Morning departure from Bangor to Bath with stops en-route in the Welsh countryside, Hay-on-Wye, home to the famous literature festival and Tintern Abbey.

Monday, July 9

Morning class. Entrance to the Roman Baths and free afternoon to explore. Evening ghost walking tour.

Tuesday, July 10

Full-day excursion to Stonehenge, Avebury and other prehistoric sites. These sites are linked to the legend of Wayland Smith and St. George in addition to being UNESCO World Heritage sites and impressive in their own right.

Wednesday, July 11

Morning departure to Tintagel. Visit to Tintagel Castle, birthplace of King Arthur, Dozmary Pool, claimed to be home to the Lady of the Lake and exploration of the local countryside.

Thursday, July 12

Morning departure to Glastonbury, said to be the site of King Arthur’s death. Hike up Glastonbury Tor. Group pub lunch at one of the most haunted buildings in England. Entrance to Glastonbury Abbey. Late afternoon transfer to London.

Friday, July 13

Morning class. Ticket for Hop on Hop Off sightseeing tour to explore independently.

Saturday, July 14

Free day.

Sunday, July 15

Free day.

Monday, July 16

Day excursion to Oxford. Walking tour of Oxford with entrances to Oxford University Colleges. Group pub lunch at The Eagle and Child. Discover the stomping grounds of the Inklings (Lewis & Tolkien), absorb the atmosphere and see how other writers such as Wilde, Pullman and Rowling were inspired by this town.

Tuesday, July 17

Morning class. Afternoon class and visit to the British Library to see firsthand the Beowulf manuscript.

Wednesday, July 18

Morning class. Afternoon workshop at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre. Evening excursion to Strawberry Hill gothic castle.

Thursday. July 19

Morning class.

Friday, July 20

Morning class. Afternoon class followed by an Alice in Wonderland inspired Afternoon Tea.

Saturday, July 21

Full day excursion to the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio Tour.

Sunday, July 22

Program ends. Optional return flight to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.