Study Abroad in Comparative Education Systems, Study & Travel Program

Get Started Today!


 

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

Comparative Education Systems: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 13 to London | Inbound: June 1 from Italy

Comparative Education Systems

Academic Program: May 14 - May 31

Friday, May 13

Optional overnight flight from the U.S. to London.*

Saturday, May 14

Arrive in London. Transfer to accommodation.

*Orientation and group welcome meal.

Sunday, May 15

Morning class: Introduction to the course.Guided sightseeing tour of London.

Monday, May 16

Morning class: An overview of the education system in England.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to The Foundling Museum which tells the story of the Foundling Hospital, Englandís first home for children at risk of abandonment.

Tuesday, May 17

Morning class: Primary (elementary) schools and teaching methodology in England.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to a London school with tour, presentation and meeting with staff and pupils.

Wednesday, May 18

Morning class: Education and social class.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to the Ragged Museum to gain insight into the history of schooling in England, with particular focus on classrooms during Victorian times.

Thursday, May 19

Morning class: Secondary and higher education in England.

Afternoon class: Guest lecture and Q&A with a London teacher to provide an overview of school management in England.

Friday, May 20

Morning flight to Barcelona. Check into accommodation.

Afternoon sightseeing tour of Barcelona.

Saturday, May 21

Morning class: Overview of Spanish education system.

Afternoon class: Catalan as a vehicular language in Education.

Sunday, May 22

Study day.

Monday, May 23

Morning visit to a primary or secondary education state school.

Afternoon visit to an International School.

Tuesday, May 24

Morning class: Higher education in Spain.

Afternoon visit: tour of a Spanish university.

Wednesday, May 25

Morning class: Visit to a tourism/business school.

Free afternoon.

Thursday, May 26

Morning flight to Florence.Afternoon guided sightseeing tour.

Friday, May 27

Morning class: Introduction to the Italian education system.

Afternoon class: Educational trends.

Evening Italian cooking class and group meal.

Saturday, May 28

Full day excursion to Siena and San Gimignano by private bus including a guided tour of Siena.

Sunday, May 29

Study day.

Monday, May 30

Morning class: Learning environments and student interaction.

Afternoon visit to a local school.

Tuesday, May 31

Final class and group discussion followed by exam.

Farewell dinner.

Wednesday, June 1

Optional return flight from Italy to the U.S.*

Dates and itinerary are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.


Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs! Offerings!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program, Comparative Education Systems programs!