Study Abroad in Comparative Education Systems, Study & Travel Program

Get Started Today!

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

Comparative Education Systems: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 14 to London | Inbound: June 1 from Copenhagen

Comparative Education Systems

Academic Program: May 15 - May 31

Friday, May 14

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Saturday, May 15

Arrive in London, transfer to accommodations.*

Orientation and Group welcome meal.

Sunday, May 16

Morning class: Introduction to the course.

Afternoon class: Guided sightseeing tour of London.

Monday, May 17

Morning class: An overview of the education system in England.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to The Foundling Museum which tells the story of the Foundling Hospital, England’s first home for children at risk of abandonment.

Tuesday, May 18

Morning class: Primary (elementary) schools and teaching methodology in England.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to a London school with tour, presentation and meeting with staff and pupils (3hrs).

Wednesday, May 19

Morning class: Education and social class.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to the Ragged Museum to gain insight into the history of schooling in England, with particular focus on classrooms during Victorian times.

Thursday, May 20

Morning class: Secondary and higher education in England.

Afternoon class: Guest lecture and Q & A with London teacher to provide an overview of school management in England.

Friday, May 21

Study day.

Saturday, May 22

Transfer to Berlin, check into accommodation.

Guided sightseeing tour of Berlin.

Sunday, May 23

Morning class: Overview of German education system.

Afternoon class: Guest lecture and Q & A with local teacher.

Monday, May 24

Study day.

Tuesday, May 25

Morning class: Guest lecture on the topic of Berlin Adult Education School.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to local Berlin school.

Wednesday, May 26

Morning class: Vocational teaching in Germany.

Afternoon class: Academic visit to university, vocational school or university of applied sciences campus.

Thursday, May 27

Departure for Copenhagen by train.

Friday, May 28

Morning class: Overview of Danish education system.

Afternoon class: Guided tour of Fælledparken, a local playground, with lecture on the topic of “Interactive Play and Playworks approach to education.” Guided walking tour of Copenhagen Historical Centre.

Saturday, May 29

Morning class: Guest lecture on the topic of “The Danish Forest and Nature School Approach.”

Afternoon class: Comparative look at the education systems in the U.K., Germany and Denmark.

Sunday, May 30

Study day.

Monday, May 31

Final class and group discussion followed by exam.

Farewell group meal.

Sunday, June 1

Optional return flight from Copenhagen to the U.S.*

Dates and itinerary are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.


Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Comparative Education Systems programs!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program, Comparative Education Systems programs!