Study Abroad in Comparative Healthcare, Study & Travel Program

Get Started Today!

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

Comparative Healthcare: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 14, 2021 to London | Inbound: June 2, 2021 from Italy

Comparative Healthcare

Academic Program: May 15, 2021 - June 1, 2021

Friday, May 14

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Saturday, May 15

Arrive London. Transfer to accommodations.*
Orientation and group welcome meal.

Sunday, May 16

Morning class: Introduction to the course and to key differences between US and European healthcare.
Guided sightseeing tour of London.

Monday, May 17

Morning class: The history of the National Health Service and implications of Brexit.
Afternoon walking tour: London's medical heritage.

Tuesday, May 18

Morning class: A medical education in Europe.
Afternoon visit: Tour of a simulation hospital/medical training facility.

Wednesday, May 19

Morning class: Public vs Private healthcare.
Afternoon: study time.

Thursday, May 20

Flight to Barcelona. Transfer to accommodations.
Afternoon visit to the modernist hospital of Sant Pau.

Friday, May 21

Morning class: A spotlight on the Spanish healthcare system.
Guided sightseeing tour of Barcelona.

Saturday, May 22

Morning class: Mental health: Investment and approaches throughout Europe.
Academic visit to youth support services.

Sunday, May 23

Study day.

Monday, May 24

Morning class: Innovation in healthcare.
Afternoon visit to a healthcare innovation and investment institution.

Tuesday, May 25

Visit to the Royal Academy of Medicine or Royal Academy of Pharmacy of Catalonia.
Tour of the Picasso Museum.

Wednesday, May 26

Flight to Florence, Italy. Transfer to accommodations.
Walking tour of Florence's historical center.

Thursday, May 27

Morning class: Approaches to Pandemics: what have we learnt?
Afternoon visit to a local hospital.

Friday, May 28

Morning tour of a local market.
Afternoon class: the Mediterranean diet and its globally recognized health benefits/the obesity crisis
Evening cooking class and group meal.

Saturday, May 29

Morning visit to La Specola and the Santa Maria Novella pharmacy.
Afternoon tour of the Uffizi.

Sunday, May 30

Morning class: Aging populations and senior care.
Afternoon visit to a senior center.

Monday, May 31

Morning class: Overview of course.
Study time.

Tuesday, June 1

Morning: Final class/exam
Free afternoon and farewell dinner.

Wednesday, June 2

Optional return flight from Italy to the U.S.*

Dates and itinerary are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.


Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs! Offerings!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program programs!

Download PDF with full program details on all AIFS Study & Travel Program, Comparative Healthcare programs!