European Art and Architecture, Travel

European Art & Architecture: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 13 to London | Inbound: June 8 from Rome

European Art and Architecture (Session 1)

Academic Program: May 14 - June 7

Saturday, May 13

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Sunday, May 14

Arrive London. Transfer to accommodations.* Rest of day free

Monday, May 15

Morning orientation followed by a sightseeing tour with a professional guide. See London’s famous sights including Piccadilly Circus in the heart of the West End, the Houses of Parliament on the banks of the Thames, and Buckingham Palace, plus an inside visit to Westminster Abbey.

Tuesday, May 16

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the British Museum

Wednesday, May 17

Morning visit to the Tate Modern. Afternoon visit to the National Gallery.

Thursday, May 18

Free day in London.

Friday, May 19

Morning departure to Harwich to board the cross-channel ferry to Hoek in Holland. Transfer to your hotel in Amsterdam, cultural capital of the Netherlands.

Saturday, May 20

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Rijksmuseum to see the impressive collection of Dutch paintings including some of the greatest works by artists such as Vermeer and Rembrandt. Evening canal cruise.

Sunday, May 21

Morning class. Visit to the Van Gogh museum.

Monday, May 22

Departure by bus to Paris, via Bruges in Belgium which is known as the "Venice of the North", with its medieval buildings, fairytale squares and streets. Evening River Seine sightseeing cruise.

Tuesday, May 23

Morning classes. Afternoon visit to the Musée D’Orsay.

Wednesday, May 24

Morning visit to the Louvre. Afternoon visit to the Pompidou Center.

Thursday, May 25

Free day

Friday, May 26

Morning transfer to Lucerne, Switzerland. Balance of the day free.

Saturday, May 27

Morning visit to the Rosengart Collection. Free afternoon.

Sunday, May 28

Transfer to Venice by train.

Monday, May 29

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Church of Frari.

Tuesday, May 30

Morning visits to the Doge’s Palace and Gallerié dell’Accademia, home of Venetian art. Free afternoon.

Wednesday, May 31

Morning visit to the Guggenheim Museum, which holds an important collection of modern art, including works by Picasso, Miro, Kandinsky and Pollock. Afternoon transer to Florence by private bus.

Thursday, June 1

Morning class. Visit to San Marco. Afternoon visit to the Duomo.

Friday, June 2

Morning class. Afternoon visit to Uffizi Gallery.

Saturday, June 3

Free day.

Sunday, June 4

Transfer by bus to Rome. Early evening guided visit to the Colosseum.

Monday, June 5

Morning Class. Afternoon visit to the Vatican and its museums, culminating in a visit to the Sistine Chapel with its frescoes by Michelangelo. Visit St. Peter's Basilica, the largest Christian church in the world.

Tuesday, June 6

Morning class. Free afternoon.

Wednesday, June 7

Morning final assessment of the academic program. Free afternoon.

Thursday, June 8

Optional return flight from Rome to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.