Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

European Art & Architecture: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 11 to London | Inbound: June 1 from Rome

European Art and Architecture

Academic Program: May 14 - May 31

Saturday, May 11

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Sunday, May 12

Arrive London (Including Own Travel Students). Transfer to accommodations.* Rest of day free.

Monday, May 13

Morning orientation followed by a sightseeing tour with a professional guide. See London’s famous sights including Piccadilly Circus in the heart of the West End, the Houses of Parliament on the banks of the Thames and Buckingham Palace, plus an inside visit to Westminster Abbey.

Tuesday, May 14

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the British Museum.

Wednesday, May 15

Morning visit to the Tate Modern. Afternoon visit to the National Gallery

Thursday, May 16

Morning class. Afternoon free.

Friday, May 17

Travel by Eurostar to Paris and check into accommodations. Evening river cruise in Paris.

Saturday, May 18

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Musée D’Orsay.

Sunday, May 19

Morning visit to the Louvre. Afternoon visit to the Pompidou Center.

Monday, May 20

Morning class. Afternoon free.

Tuesday, May 21

Morning transfer to Lausanne Switzerland. Balance of the day free.

Wednesday, May 22

Morning visit to the Fondation de l’Hermitage gallery in Lausanne. Afternoon transfer to Venice.

Thursday, May 23

Morning class. Afternoon tour, including the Bridge of Sighs, St. Mark’s Square and entrance to the Church of Frari.

Friday, May 24

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Guggenheim Museum, which holds an important collection of modern art, including works by Picasso, Miró, Kandinsky and Pollock. Late afternoon transfer to Florence by private bus.

Saturday, May 25

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Duomo.

Sunday, May 26

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Uffizi Gallery.

Monday, May 27

Morning class. Afternoon free.

Tuesday, May 28

Morning visit to the Galleria dell’Accademia, home of Michelangelo’s David. Afternoon transfer by private bus to Rome. Early evening guided visit to the Colosseum.

Wednesday, May 29

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Vatican and its museums, culminating in a visit to the Sistine Chapel with its frescoes by Michelangelo. Visit St. Peter’s Basilica, the largest Christian church in the world..

Thursday, May 30

Morning class. Afternoon free.

Friday, May 31

Morning final assessment of the academic program. Afternoon free.

Saturday, June 1

Optional return flight from Rome to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary. Dates are subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.