Study & Travel (Multi-Destination) Programs

European Art & Architecture: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: May 12 to London | Inbound: June 5 from Rome

European Art and Architecture

Academic Program: May 14 - June 4

Saturday, May 12

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London.*

Sunday, May 13

Arrive London. Transfer to accommodations.* Rest of day free.

Monday, May 14

Morning orientation followed by a sightseeing tour with a professional guide. See London’s famous sights including Piccadilly Circus in the heart of the West End, the Houses of Parliament on the banks of the Thames and Buckingham Palace, plus an inside visit to Westminster Abbey.

Tuesday, May 15

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the British Museum.

Wednesday, May 16

Morning visit to the Tate Modern. Afternoon visit to the National Gallery.

Thursday, May 17

Free day in London.

Friday , May 18

Morning departure to Harwich to board the cross-channel ferry to Hoek in Holland. Transfer to your hotel in Amsterdam, cultural capital of the Netherlands.

Saturday, May 19

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Rijksmuseum to see the impressive collection of Dutch paintings including some of the greatest works by artists such as Vermeer and Rembrandt. Evening canal cruise.

Sunday, May 20

Morning class. Visit to the Van Gogh museum.

Monday, May 21

Departure by bus to Paris, via Bruges in Belgium which is known as the “Venice of the North” with its medieval buildings, fairytale squares and streets. Evening river cruise in Paris.

Tuesday, May 22

Morning classes. Afternoon visit to the Musée D’Orsay.

Wednesday, May 23

Morning visit to the Louvre. Afternoon visit to the Pompidou Center.

Thursday, May 24

Free day.

Friday, May 25

Morning transfer to Lausanne, Switzerland. Balance of the day free.

Saturday, May 26

Morning visit to the Fondation de l’Hermitage gallery in Lausanne. Afternoon transfer to Venice.

Sunday, May 27

Morning class. Afternoon tour, including the Bridge of Sighs, St. Mark’s Square and entrance to the Church of Frari.

Monday, May 28

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Guggenheim Museum, which holds an important collection of modern art, including works by Picasso, Miró, Kandinsky and Pollock. Late afternoon transfer to Florence by private bus.

Tuesday, May 29

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Duomo.

Wednesday, May 30

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Uffizi Gallery.

Thursday, May 31

Morning class. Free afternoon.

Friday, June 1

Morning visit to the Galleria dell’Accademia, home of Michelangelo’s David. Afternoon transfer by private bus to Rome. Early evening guided visit to the Colosseum.

Saturday, June 2

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Vatican and its museums, culminating in a visit to the Sistine Chapel with its frescoes by Michelangelo. Visit St. Peter’s Basilica, the largest Christian church in the world.

Sunday, June 3

Morning class. Free afternoon.

Monday, June 4

Morning final assessment of the academic program. Free afternoon.

Tuesday, June 5

Optional return flight from Rome to the U.S.*

AIFS reserves the right to modify the itinerary.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.