Study Abroad in European Art and Architecture, Study & Travel Programs

Get Started Today!

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

European Art & Architecture: Itinerary

AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: December 31, 2020 to London | Inbound: January 20, 2021 from Rome

3-Week January Term Program

Thursday, December 31

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to London*

Friday, January 1

Arrive in London. Transfer to accommodation.* Rest of day free

Saturday, January 2

Morning orientation followed by a sightseeing tour with a professional guide. See London’s famous sights including Piccadilly Circus in the heart of the West End, the Houses of Parliament on the banks of the Thames and Buckingham Palace, plus an inside visit to St Paul’s Cathedral

Sunday, January 3

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the British Museum

Monday, January 4

Morning visit to the Tate Modern. Afternoon visit to the National Gallery

Tuesday, January 5

Free day in London

Wednesday, January 6

Travel by Eurostar to Paris and check into accommodation. Evening river cruise

Thursday, January 7

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Musée D’Orsay

Friday, January 8

Morning visit to the Louvre. Afternoon visit to the Pompidou Center

Saturday, January 9

Morning class. Afternoon free

Sunday, January 10

Morning transfer to Lausanne, Switzerland. Rest of the day free

Monday, January 11

Morning visit to the Fondation de l’Hermitage gallery in Lausanne. Afternoon transfer to Venice

Tuesday, January 12

Morning class. Afternoon tour, including the Bridge of Sighs, St. Mark’s Square and entrance to the Church of Frari

Wednesday, January 13

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Guggenheim Museum, which holds an important collection of modern art, including works by Picasso, Miró, Kandinsky and Pollock. Late afternoon transfer to Florence by train

Thursday, January 14

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Duomo

Friday, January 15

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Uffizi Gallery

Saturday, January 16

Morning visit to the Galleria dell’Accademia, home of Michelangelo’s David. Afternoon transfer by private bus to Rome. Early evening guided visit to the Colosseum

Sunday, January 17

Morning class. Afternoon free

Monday, January 18

Morning class. Afternoon visit to the Vatican and its museums, culminating in a visit to the Sistine Chapel with its frescoes by Michelangelo. Visit St. Peter’s Basilica, the largest Christian church in the world

Tuesday, January 19

Morning final assessment of the academic program. Afternoon free

Wednesday, January 20

Optional return flight from Rome to the U.S.*

Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change. Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or Europe.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.