Study Abroad in Stellenbosch, South Africa

Get Started Today!

Yes, please contact me at the number I have provided regarding additional information about AIFS Study Abroad. We respect your privacy and will not sell your contact or personal information.

Apply Now!

Study Abroad in Stellenbosch: Itinerary

In the Southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from January to November. To give American students greater flexibility, programs at Stellenbosch University are offered as the July-November semester 2020 and as the January-June semester 2021. Full-year students may also enroll from January to November, 2021.


July 10, 2020 | November 19, 2020

July-November Semester

Friday, July 10

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Cape Town*

Saturday, July 11

Arrive in Cape Town.* Transfer from Cape Town to Stellenbosch*. Students arranging their own travel should arrive on this date.

Sunday, July 12

AIFS Orientation and welcome dinner

Monday, July 13 to Friday, July 17

Stellenbosch Orientation and Registrations

Monday, July 20

Classes begin

Friday, July 31 to Sunday, August 2

Optional 3-day excursion to the Cederberg Mountains ($375)

Saturday, September 5 to Sunday, September 13

Mid-semester break

Friday, September 4 to Wednesday, September 9

6-day Garden Route tour

Wednesday, September 9 to Sunday, September 13

Optional 5-day excursion to Addo Elephant Park and Breede River ($695)

Friday, October 23

Classes end

Tuesday, October 27 to Wednesday, November 18

Exams

Thursday, November 19

Optional return flight from Cape Town to U.S.*

Itineraries are tentative and subject to change.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Note: In the Southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from January to November. To give American students greater flexibility, programs at Stellenbosch University are offered as the July-November semester 2020 and as the January-June semester 2021. Full-year students may also enroll from January to November, 2021.