Study Abroad in Stellenbosch, South Africa

Study Abroad in Stellenbosch: Itinerary

In the Southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from January to November. To give American students greater flexibility, programs at Stellenbosch University are offered as the July-November semester 2019 and as the January-June semester 2020. Full-year students may also enroll from January to November, 2020.


July 12, 2019 | November 21, 2019

July-November Semester

Friday, July 12

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Cape Town*

Saturday, July 13

Arrive in Cape Town.* Transfer from Cape Town to Stellenbosch*

Sunday, July 14

AIFS Orientation and welcome dinner

Monday, July 15 to Friday, July 19

Stellenbosch Orientation and Registrations

Monday, July 22

Classes begin

Friday, August 16 to Sunday, August 18

Optional 3-day excursion to the Cederberg Mountains ($375)

Saturday, September 7 to Sunday, September 15

Mid-semester break

Friday, September 6 to Wednesday, September 11

6-day Garden Route tour

Wednesday, September 11 to Sunday, September 15

Optional 5-day excursion to Addo Elephant Park and Breede River ($695)

Friday, October 25

Classes end

Tuesday, October 29 to Wednesday, November 20

Exams

Thursday, November 21

Optional return flight from Cape Town to U.S.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S., Europe or South Africa.
Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.