Study Abroad in Stellenbosch, South Africa

Study Abroad in Stellenbosch: Itinerary

In the Southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from January to November. To give American students greater flexibility, programs at Stellenbosch University are offered as the July-November semester 2018 and as the January-June semester 2019. Full-year students may also enroll from January to November, 2019 .


July 13, 2018 | November 22, 2018

July-November Semester

Friday, July 13

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Cape Town*

Saturday, July 14

Arrival in Cape Town.* Transfer from Cape Town to Stellenbosch*

Sunday, July 15

AIFS Orientation and welcome dinner

Monday, July 16 to
Friday, July 20

Stellenbosch Orientation and Registrations

Monday, July 23

Classes begin

Friday, August 17 to
Sunday, August 19

Optional 3-day excursion to the Cederberg Mountains ($295)

Saturday, September 8 to
Sunday, September 16

Mid-semester break

Friday, September 7 to
Wednesday, September 12

6-day Garden Route tour

Wednesday, September 12 to
Sunday, September 16

Optional 5-day excursion to Addo Elephant Park and Breede River ($645)

Friday, October 26

Classes end

Tuesday, October 30 to
Wednesday, November 21

Exams

Thursday, November 22

Optional return flight from Cape Town to U.S.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S., Europe or South Africa.
Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change.

* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.