Study Abroad in Stellenbosch, South Africa

Program Dates - January Term 2019


AIFS Flight Dates

Outbound: January 1 to Cape Town | Inbound: January 18 from Cape Town

January Term Program - Photography

Academic Program:

Tuesday, January 1

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Cape Town*

Wednesday, January 2

Arrive in Cape Town. Transfer to accommodation in Stellenbosch.* Practical local area tour with program staff

Thursday, January 3

Full-day orientation program and welcome meal

Friday, January 4

Day trip to Cape Town. Visit Robben island by boat

Saturday, January 5

Day trip to Cape Point

Sunday, January 6

Visit to the iconic Table Mountain by cable car followed by visit to a winery

Monday, January 7 to Friday, January 11

Classes on campus with academic field trips in the Stellenbosch area

Saturday, January 12

Depart Stellenbosch to travel along the Garden Route

Sunday, January 13

Visit an ostrich farm then travel onwards to the famed limestone Cango Caves

Monday, January 14

Visit Addo Elephant National Park. End the day at Jeffrey’s Bay

Tuesday, January 15

Travel to Tsitsikamma National Park and to Knysna a popular vacation town

Wednesday, January 16

Travel to Wilderness National Park and end the day in Cape Agulhas

Thursday, January 17

Return to Stellenbosch and visit the Kogelberg Biosphere

Friday, January 18

Optional evening return flight from Cape Town to the U.S.*

Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change. Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or Europe.
* Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.