Study Abroad in Wellington, New Zealand

Study Abroad in Wellington: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November.


July 1, 2018 | November 18, 2018

July-November Semester with optional Pacific Studies Program ($1,595)

Sunday, July 1

Optional flight from U.S. to Fiji*

Tuesday, July 3

Arrive in Nadi, Fiji. Transfer to hotel.* Orientation and tour of Nadi town including the Shri Siva Temple and the market place

Wednesday, July 4

En-route from Nadi to Suva visit the sand dunes and excavations at Sigatoka followed by a visit to Tavuni Hill Fort to learn about its Tongan heritage. Arrival at the University of the South Pacific (USP) in Suva and transfer to homestay

Thursday, July 5

Welcome ceremony at USP and a walking tour of Suva

Friday, July 6

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Saturday, July 7

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Sunday, July 8

Exam

Monday, July 9

Depart Suva by boat to Mana Island Resort to swim or snorkel. Additional activities such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available for a supplemental fee. Evening arrival in Nadi and overnight in the hotel

Tuesday, July 10

Optional flight from Fiji to Wellington.* Arrive in Wellington. Transfer to Victoria University*

Wednesday, July 11 to
Thursday, July 12

VUW International Orientation Week and Enrollment

Monday, July 16

Classes begin

Monday, August 27 to
Sunday, September 9

Mid-trimester break

Friday, October 5 to
Sunday, October 7

3-day visit to Rotorua

Friday, October 19

Classes end

Friday, October 26

Exams begin

Saturday, November 17

Exams end

Sunday, November 18

Optional return flight from Wellington to U.S.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or New Zealand.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

All calendar, routing and vacation dates are tentative and subject to change.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.-Wellington/Nadi, Wellington-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.