Study Abroad in Wellington, New Zealand

Study Abroad in Wellington: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November.


July 2, 2017 | November 19, 2017

July-November Semester with optional Pacific Studies Program ($1,595)

Sunday, July 2

Optional flight from U.S. to Fiji*

Tuesday, July 4

Arrive in Nadi, Fiji. Transfer to hotel.* Orientation and tour of Nadi town including the Shri Siva Temple and the market place

Wednesday, July 5

En-route from Nadi to Suva visit the sand dunes and excavations at Sigatoka followed by a visit to Tavuni Hill Fort to learn about its Tongan heritage. Arrival at the University of the South Pacific (USP) in Suva and transfer to homestay

Thursday, July 6

Welcome ceremony at USP and a walking tour of Suva

Friday, July 7

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Saturday, July 8

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Sunday, July 9

Exam

Monday, July 10

Depart Suva by boat to Mana Island Resort to swim or snorkel. Additional activities such as jet-skiing and para-sailing are available for a supplemental fee. Evening arrival in Nadi and overnight in the hotel

Tuesday, July 11

Optional flight from Fiji to Wellington.* Transfer to Victoria University*

Wednesday, July 12 to
Thursday, July 13

VUW International Orientation, Enrollment and Welcome Dinner

Monday, July 17

Classes begin

Monday, August 28 to
Sunday, September 10

Mid-trimester break

Friday, September 8 to
Sunday, September 10

3-day visit to Rotorua

Friday, October 20

Classes end

Friday, October 27

Exams begin

Saturday, November 18

Exams end

Sunday, November 19

Optional return flight from Wellington to U.S.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or New Zealand. All calendar, routing and vacation dates are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.-Wellington/Nadi, Wellington-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.