Study Abroad in Wellington, New Zealand

Study Abroad in Wellington: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November so AIFS students will be applying for Trimester 1 at Victoria University.


February 17, 2017 | July 6, 2017

February–June Semester with optional Pacific Studies Program ($1,595)

Friday, February 17

Optional flight from U.S. to Fiji*

Sunday, February 19

Arrive in Nadi, Fiji. Transfer to hotel.* A local orientation will be followed by a tour of Nadi town and in particular the Shri Siva Temple and the market place

Monday, February 20

En-route from Nadi to Suva you will visit the sand dunes and excavations at Sigatoka sand dunes followed by a visit to Tavuni Hill Fort to learn about its Tongan heritage. On arrival at the University of the South Pacific (USP) in Suva you will meet with your homestay hosts

Tuesday, February 21

Welcome ceremony at USP. Morning and afternoon lectures at USP. Museum visit

Wednesday, February 22

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Thursday, February 23

Exams

Friday, February 24

Return to Nadi. Overnight in Nadi

Saturday, February 25

Day trip to Mana Island Resort where students can swim or snorkel. Additional activities such as jet skiing and parasailing are available for a supplemental fee. Overnight in Nadi

Sunday, February 26

Optional flight from Fiji to Wellington.* Transfer to Victoria University.*

Monday, February 27 to
Friday, March 3

VUW International Orientation Week and Enrollment

Monday, March 6

Classes begin

Friday, March 17 to
Sunday, March 19

3-day visit to Rotorua

Friday, April 14 to
Sunday, April 30

Mid trimester break

Friday, June 9

Classes end

Friday, June 16

Exams begin

Wednesday, July 5

Exams end

Thursday, July 6

Optional return flight from Wellington to U.S.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or New Zealand. All calendar, routing and vacation dates are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.-Wellington/Nadi, Wellington-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.