Study Abroad in San Jose, Costa Rica

Study Abroad in San José: Cultural Excursions

Manuel Antonio National Park (3 days)

Included in program fee.

Friday, May 12 – Sunday, May 14 (Session 1). Students taking Sessions 1 + 2 go on the excursion during Session 1.
Friday, June 9 – Sunday, June 11 (Session 2 and 3).
Friday, July 7 – Sunday, July 9 (Session 4 and 5).

Afternoon departure by bus to Manuel Antonio National Park, home to some of the most beautiful beaches on the Central Pacific coast. Once you have checked into the hotel, head out for dinner with your fellow students and enjoy live music and Latin dancing.

On day two after breakfast at the hotel, go on a hike to the national park where you will be able to sink your feet into white sandy beaches, swim in the warm waters and get to know the flora and fauna of the park including monkeys, sloths, raccoons and many species of exotic plants and flowers.

On day three, after breakfast, enjoy free time at the beach or the hotel pool. Then head back to San José.

Includes accommodations, transportation, entrance fees and breakfast and a welcome dinner on the first night. Other meals are not included.

Optional Excursion to Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs (2 Days - $175)

Saturday, May 20 – Sunday, May 21 (Session 1).
Saturday, June 17 – Sunday, June 18 (Session 2 and 3).
Saturday, July 15 – Sunday, July 16 (Sessions 4 and 5).

Afternoon departure by bus to a small town called La Fortuna where the great Arenal Volcano is located. Once settled into the hotel visit a hot springs spa where you can bathe in the warm and naturally heated waters. Afterwards enjoy dinner with your friends and fellow students.

On day two, enjoy the vista of Arenal Volcano and the wide variety of birds and mammals that take refuge in Arenal Lake as well as a hike down to La Fortuna Waterfall.

Fee includes transportation, hotel, entrances to hot springs and waterfall, breakfast and 1 dinner.

Students must enroll and pay for the excursion by April 1. Students who apply after the deadline may enroll subject to availability. If minimum enrollment of 15 is not achieved, the tour may be cancelled. Once paid for in the U.S. optional excursions are non-refundable except in the event of cancellation.

Dates and itineraries for all excursions are tentative and subject to change.