Study Abroad in Viña del Mar, Chile

Study Abroad in Viña del Mar: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and runs from February to November. Fall semester is springtime; spring semester, fall.

July 25, 2018 | November 24, 2018 (December 12 for Pregrado Program)

July - November Semester

Wednesday, July 25

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Santiago*

Thursday, July 26

Arrive Santiago. Transfer to Viña del Mar*

Friday, July 27

Orientation, placement test and tour of Viña del Mar

Monday, July 30

Classes begin

Friday, August 10

Day trip to Valparaíso

Friday, August 31

Day trip to Santiago

Friday, September 21 to
Monday, September 24

Optional 4-day excursion to Pucón ($545)

Friday, September 28

Day trip to Pomaire

Friday, October 19

Day trip to Isla Negra

Monday, November 19

Exams begin for students on the International Program

Friday, November 23

Classes end for students on both programs

Saturday, November 24

Optional return flight to U.S.for students on the International Program*

Monday, November 26 to
Tuesday, December 11

Exam period for students taking the Pregrado Program

Wednesday, December 12

Optional return flight to U.S. for students on the Pregrado Program*

Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.-Santiago, Santiago-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.