Study Abroad in Wollongong, Australia

Study Abroad in Wollongong: Itinerary

In the Southern Hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November. Full-year students may enroll from February to November, 2020. Full-year students are responsible for their own housing and meals between semesters.

All calendar, routing and vacation dates are tentative and subject to change. Students making travel plans should note that exams continue until the last day of the semester. Early exams cannot be arranged. Students making their own travel arrangements should verify dates with AIFS before finalizing their plans. Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or Australia.


July 3, 2019 | November 16, 2019

July-November Semester, with optional Pacific Studies Program ($1,595)

Wednesday, July 3

Optional flight from U.S. to Fiji*

Friday, July 5

Arrive in Nadi, Fiji. Transfer to hotel.* Local orientation and tour of Nadi town

Saturday, July 6

Transfer to Suva with visit to sand dunes and excavations at Sigatoka and Tavuni Hill Fort on the way. Arrive in Suva and transfer to homestay

Sunday, July 7

Welcome ceremony at USP and a walking tour of Suva

Monday, July 8

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Tuesday, July 9

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Wednesday, July 10

Exams

Thursday, July 11

Depart Suva by boat to Mana Island Resort where students can swim or snorkel. Evening arrival in Nadi and overnight in hotel

Friday, July 12

Optional flight from Fiji to Sydney.* Transfer to accommodation*

Saturday, July 13

Orientation meeting with AIFS staff. Free afternoon. Dinner

Sunday, July 14

Full-day excursion to the Blue Mountains

Monday, July 15

Transfer to the University of Wollongong. Check into accommodation

Tuesday, July 16

Enrollment and orientation program begins

Monday, July 22

Classes begin

Saturday, September 21 to
Sunday, September 29

Study break

Monday, September 30 to Friday, October 25

Classes

Saturday, October 26 to Sunday, November 3

Study break

Monday, November 4 to Thursday, November 14

Final exams

Saturday, November 16

Optional return flight from Sydney to U.S.*

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

**Prices in Australian dollars (AUD) are approximate and subject to change. Students pay the University of Wollongong or its agents directly for this trip upon arrival in Australia.