Study Abroad in Perth, Australia

Study Abroad in Perth: Itinerary

In the Southern Hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November. Full-year students may enroll from February to November, 2020. Full-year students are responsible for their own housing and meals between semesters.

All calendar, routing and vacation dates are tentative and subject to change. Students are responsible for their own housing and meals during the semester break. Please note that the flight route may require connections in the U.S. or Australia. Students making their own travel arrangements should reconfirm dates with AIFS before finalizing their plans.


July 6, 2019 | November 24, 2019

July-November Semester, with optional Pacific Studies Program ($1,595)

Saturday, July 6

Optional flight from U.S. to Fiji*

Monday, July 8

Arrive in Nadi, Fiji. Transfer to hotel.* A local orientation will be followed by a tour of Nadi town and in particular the Sri Siva Subramaniya Temple and the market place

Tuesday, July 9

En-route from Nadi to Suva you will visit the sand dunes and excavations at Sigatoka followed by a visit to Tavuni Hill Fort to learn about its Tongan heritage. On arrival at the University of the South Pacific (USP) in Suva you will meet with your homestay hosts

Wednesday, July 10

Welcome ceremony at USP and a walking tour of Suva

Thursday, July 11 and Friday, July 12

Morning and afternoon lectures at USP

Saturday, July 13

Exams

Sunday, July 14

Depart Suva by boat to Mana Island Resort where students can swim or snorkel. Additional activities such as jet skiing and para-sailing are available for a supplemental fee. Evening arrival in Nadi and overnight in the hotel

Monday, July 15

Optional flight from Fiji to Perth.* Transfer to Murdoch University*

Thursday, July 18 to Friday, July 26

Enrollment and orientation

Monday, July 29 to Friday, August 23

Classes

Saturday, August 24 to Sunday, September 1

Study break/9-day optional trip to North West Trip #1 ($875 AUD**)

Monday, September 2 to Friday, September 20

Classes

Saturday, September 21 to Sunday, September 29

Study break/9-day optional trip to North West Trip #2 ($875 AUD**)

Monday, September 30 to Friday, November 1

Classes

Monday, November 4 to Friday, November 8

Study break

Saturday, November 9 to Saturday, November 23

Final exams

Sunday, November 24

Optional return flight from Perth to U.S.*

Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on AIFS Flight Package only.

**Prices in Australian dollars (AUD) are approximate and subject to change. Students pay Murdoch University directly for these trips upon arrival in Australia.