Study Abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Study Abroad in Buenos Aires: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November. Fall semester is springtime; spring semester, fall.


June 21, 2019 | November 8, 2019 (December 7 for Immersion Program)

July-November Semester, with optional early start

Friday, June 21

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Buenos Aires*

Saturday, June 22

Arrive Buenos Aires. Transfer to accommodation*

Sunday, June 23

AIFS Orientation

Monday, June 24

Intensive Spanish Language course begins

Friday, July 19

Intensive Spanish Language course ends

Monday, July 22

University orientation

Tuesday, July 23 to Friday, July 26

Interviews with advisors and AIFS activities

Monday, July 29

Classes begin

Tuesday, July 30 to Friday, August 2

Online registration

Saturday, August 3

Day trip to Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Saturday, August 10

Optional Fiesta Gaucha excursion ($175)

Thursday, September 5 to Sunday, September 8

Optional 3-day excursion to Iguaz˙ Falls ($595)

Monday, November 4 to Thursday, November 7

Exam week

Friday, November 8

Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Latin American Studies Program*?

Tuesday, November 19 to Friday, December 6

Exams for students on the Immersion Program

Saturday, December 7

Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Immersion Program.*

Please note that the flight route may require connections.

Dates and routing are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.- Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.