Study Abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Study Abroad in Buenos Aires: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November. Fall semester is springtime; spring semester, fall.


June 22, 2018 | November 9, 2018 (December 8 for Immersion Program)

July-November Semester, with optional early start

Friday, June 22

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Buenos Aires*

Saturday, June 23

Arrive Buenos Aires. Transfer to accommodation*

Sunday, June 24

AIFS Orientation

Monday, June 25

Intensive Spanish Language course begins

Friday, July 20

Intensive Spanish Language course ends

Monday, July 23

University orientation

Tuesday, July 24 to Friday, July 27

Interviews with advisors and AIFS activities

Sunday, July 29

Down town tour

Monday, July 30

Classes begin

Saturday, July 28

Optional Fiesta Gaucha excursion ($175)

Tuesday, July 31 to Friday, August 3

Online registration

Saturday, August 4

Day trip to Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Monday, August 6

Intercultural workshop

Friday, August 10

Ateneo Grand Splendid visit

Thursday, August 16

Colon Theater, Philharmonic of Buenos Aires concert

Friday, August 24

Cultural workshop

Sunday, August 26

River Plate Museum

Thursday, August 30

Tango Show

Thursday, September 6 to Sunday, September 9

Optional 3-day excursion to Iguaz˙ Falls ($595)

Friday, September 14

Language exchange with natives

Saturday, September 22

Tango class and Milonga club

Saturday, September 29

Barolo Palace visit

Saturday, October 6

SÝvori museum and pic-nic in Palermo woods

Saturday, October 13

Museo de la Memoria

Saturday, October 20

Tigre and Delta day trip

Saturday, October 27

Recoleta guided tour

Monday, November 5 to Thursday, November 8

Exam week

Friday, November 9

Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Latin American Program*

Tuesday, November 20 to Friday, December 7

Exams for students on the Immersion Program

Saturday, December 8

Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Immersion Program*

Please note that the flight route may require connections.

Dates and routing are tentative and subject to change.

*Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.- Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.