Study Abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Study Abroad in Buenos Aires: Itinerary

In the southern hemisphere, the academic year is the reverse of that in the U.S. and Europe and runs from February to November. Fall semester is springtime; spring semester, fall.


June 23, 2017 | November 10, 2017 (December 8 for Immersion Program)

July-November Semester, with optional early start

Friday, June 23

Optional overnight flight from U.S. to Buenos Aires*

Saturday, June 24

Arrive Buenos Aires. Transfer to accommodation*

Sunday, June 25

AIFS Orientation

Monday, June 26

Intensive Spanish Language course begins

Friday, July 21

Intensive Spanish Language course ends

Monday, July 24

University orientation

Tuesday, July 25 to Friday, July 28

Interviews with advisors and AIFS activities

Monday, July 31

Class begin

Tuesday, August 1 to Friday, August 4

Online registration

Saturday, August 5

Day trip to Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Saturday, August 12

Optional Fiesta Gaucha excursion ($175)

Thursday, September 7 to Sunday, September 10

Optional 3-day excursion to Iguaz˙ Falls ($595)

Monday, September 18 to Thursday, September 28

Mid-term exams

Monday, November 6 to Wednesday, November 8

Exams for students on the Latin American Program

Thursday, November 9

Latin American Program ends

Friday, November 10

Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Latin American Program*

Monday, November 20 to Thursday, December 7

Exams for students on the Immersion Program

Friday, December 8

Immersion Program ends. Optional return flight from Buenos Aires to U.S. for students on the Immersion Program *

NOTE: *Included for students on the AIFS Flight Package only.

Please note that the flight route may require connections. Dates and routings are tentative and subject to change.

Students not selecting the AIFS Flight Package are responsible for arranging their own U.S.- Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires-U.S. flights according to the most up-to-date itinerary.